Urban Centres in New South Wales

  • Sydney

    Sydney, the captial of New South Wales and the largest corporate and financial centre in the country is situated on the south-east coast of Australia. The first Euorpean colony in Australia, Sydney was established in 1788 by Arthur Phillip who led the First Fleet from the United Kingdom.

  • Newcastle

    160km north of Sydney on the New South Wales coast lies Newcastle, the second oldest city in Australia and the second largest in NSW. First used as a penal settlement for convicts in the 1800s, Newcastle is now the world's largest coal export harbour.

  • Wollongong

    Wollongong is situated on the east coast of New South Wales, 82km south of Sydney in an area known as the Illawarra. It is the third largest city in NSW. Wollongong is an aboriginal name, meaning "the sound of the sea".

  • Albury

    Albury is situated in the south of New South Wales, on the border with Victoria. It is approximately 550km south-east of Sydney, on the Murray River in the Great Dividing Range. On the other side of the river in Victoria is Albury's twin city, Wodonga.

  • Maitland

    Maitland in north-east New South Wales was founded in 1820. Originally three seperate towns, West Maitland, East Maitland and Morpeth, it amalgamated in 1945 forming the city as it is today.

  • Wagga Wagga

    Wagga Wagga (meaning "place of many crows" in the local Aboriginal dialect) is a city in New South Wales on the Murrumbidgee River, 475km south-west of Sydney.

  • Port Macquarie

    Port Macquarie is a large town on the New South Wales coast, approximately 450 kilometres north of Sydney at the mouth of the Hastings River.

  • Tamworth

    Tamworth, in north-east New South Wales is located just over 400 kilometres north of Sydney, on the western side of the Great Dividing Range. Settled in the 1830s, Tamworth was named after the Staffordshire, UK town of the same name in 1850.

  • Orange

    Orange, 250km west of Sydney is a provincial city located on the Mitchell Highway.

  • Dubbo

    Dubbo is a city in central New South Wales, situated on the Macquarie River approximately 400 kilometres north-west of Sydney. The city was founded in 1841 and gained city status in 1966.

  • Lismore

    Lismore in northern New South Wales is a sub-torpical town over 800 kilometres north of the state capital Sydney. It's main industries are retail, agriculture, healthcare and education.

  • Bathurst

    Famous for it's motor racing circuit at Mount Panorama and for being the oldest inland settlement in Australia, Bathrust is an inland city in eastern New South Wales. Founded in 1815 as an administrative centre for the western plains of NSW, the settlement was named after the British colonial secretary Lord Bathurst.

  • Coffs Harbour

    Coff's Harbour, on the northern New South Wales coast, is almost 550 kilometres north of Sydney. Named "Korff's Harbour" in 1847 by Captain John Korff who used the area as shelter from a major storm, the town had it's name changed by accident by a surveyor 14 years later.

  • Richmond

    Richmond is a town near Sydney, NSW at the foot of the Blue Mountains. It was founded in 1794 as a small farming community. These days Sydney's expansion has almost reached Richmond and the town is considered one of it's outer suburbs.

  • Nowra

    Approximately 170 kilometres south of Sydney, Nowra (and it's twin town Bomaderry) is located on the south-east coast of New South Wales.